Transfer #5: 7 days to beta

So it’s been 3 days since the transfer. I speculate about whether this one is going to stick and work out a lot. But at the same time I also think I’m better at not worrying about it too much. It helps that I’ve been keeping myself relatively busy – going out, cooking complex dishes, seeing people…

And I think once I’ve done the transfer, a huge amount of stress disappears. I mean, there’s the whole “2WW” thing, but I’ve done enough to know how to handle it. The trick? Definitely no POAS and ignore all potential pregnancy symtpoms. Easier said than done, you might say. But come 5th transfer and yet to see a healthy baby (or even a positive beta – or even reach the originally scheduled beta test day), you get good at it.

Anyway, as I was saying, stress-be-gone. You get to this stage and there’s really nothing else that you can do except to sit and wait. So in that sense it’s less stressful. But beforehand… I was a complete nutcase. Cracking it over everything, thinking about cancelling the transfer… Even the nurse I saw post-transfer took one look at me and asked if I was OK. So I had a little cry and told her how this was going to be our last attempt for awhile. The nurse was lovely, she’s one of my two favourites. She really made an effort to just spend time chatting to me, making sure I was really OK, getting me to smile a bit, before letting me go. It was a really notable and appreciated gesture.

So it’s back to work tomorrow. Hopefully that keeps me busy and makes the week go faster. The endless waiting game continues!

Leave a Reply

