New era

Ok, we met our new doctor today. Well, we’ve met him a couple of other times when he’s filled in for our last doctor. But anyway, we like him.

We had a much longer conversation than we’ve previously had with him, being our first proper consultation. It was good. He went through Hubby’s medical history briefly (the reason why we’re doing PDG), then went over our IVF history, looked at all the tests we’ve, looked at how we’ve done our cycles, let us ask questions, talked about evidence-based findings to guide things that we can do now, and then talked about next steps.

So, the only things that I’m going to change:

  • limit myself to one coffee a day and only herbal teas (I’ve been having at least one coffee a day and many cups of teas, both teas with caffeine and herbal ones – having said that, I only really started this after we took our extended break from IVF – the doc assured me that having no more than two coffees a day is fine. I mean, I need something to enjoy in life, right?!)
  • try to increase the amount of fresh fruit and veg that we eat – we’re pretty good with this one already. And we already have a lot of whole foods. Guess we’ll just amp that up a little.

The doc suggested that we try our next cycle without the pill. Hurrah! The pill really messes with my mind! I mean, the other drugs do too, but at least I’m somewhat able to keep myself in check for that part of the cycle now. He says that it’s almost the only thing that we haven’t done. And that this time we’ll do everything on a “natural” cycle, so the stimulation and the *fingers crossed* transfer.

So then he asked me when I was expecting my next day one. I said, “Tomorrow!” So he called up the nursing team straight away to see if he could get us booked in for this month, but they said no. But that’s fine with us as we’re heading up the coast later this week for a family, beach holiday. However, the doc told us to make sure that when my day one is here, to definitely call the nursing team so that there’s a record of me getting knocked back. That way when I call up the next time, they’ll (hopefully *fingers crossed*) be ready for me!

That’s that! It was a good session. Both hubby and I, but importantly hubby, are very comfortable with the new doc. We didn’t feel rushed during the consultation and it really felt as if he was taking the time and effort to explain things to us. I mean, I must be one of the few IVF-illiterate people out there – of people who go through IVF anyway. Coz at one stage when he was asking me about my cycle and if I get a sep-something. I was like,  huh? [TMI warning: he was talking about the mid-cycle mucus discharge.] He also explained about how based on the number of eggs and unaffected embryos we’ve actually managed to get, we’re still very much in the “normal” spectrum, despite our failed transfers. And that I’m no where near at risk of using up all my eggs, despite the number of eggs we’ve collected! [Ha – are you IVF literate people laughing at me?]

So what we’re going to do now is go on our beach holiday later this week (with my parents, brother and his family!), come back and enjoy a little bit of family-free time at home, wait a few weeks until my next cycle and then, I suppose, get stuck into it!

In some ways it feels like we’re only doing our first cycle, given that we’ve had a break and switched docs. Fingers crossed that we really are a step closer this time.

3 thoughts on “New era

  1. Great first visit! Your vacation is good timing too, to get your heads & bodies all rested up. Enjoy! With herbal teas, I’m no expert, but I was drinking a lot of teas during my less successful attempts and a friend of mentioned chamomile being bad for implantation or lining (maybe both), and I’m not sure about other teas but one that is said to be good for TTC is red raspberry leaf tea. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

