The waiting game

IMG_4264
Abstract representation of an embryo?!

So doing IVF involves a lot of waiting. Everything about it revolves around waiting for the next step. Between every last failed cycle and the next, I have to wait until Aunty Flo comes again. Then I start taking the pill and wait some more. This is where I’m at, at the moment. My next EC is meant to be on 23 January 2015 (I’ve been waiting since my last failed cycle in November 2014). I am currently waiting for a phone call from the PDG nurse to tell me when I can go and collect my next batch of drugs and start my injections. I’ve had a few phone calls from Doc’s admin crew already – to tell me to pay up…

Given that I’m on holidays at the moment, and have just finished the crazy round of Christmas gatherings (two families, one birthday, one random visiting relo’s lunch), I now find time to be moving slowly. We did want to go away today (got a new tent from the MIL – we want to test it out!), but Hubby has made surfing plans for the 29 Dec, which he doesn’t want to cancel. So we’re just kind of hanging out at home and doing the occasional day outing here and there. Meanwhile, I sit here (sometimes literally, sometimes figuratively) waiting for a phone call!

And it’s not like I get to start the injections straight away, I have to firstly wait for another round of Aunty Flo’s antics and then start. Then there’s a double dose of scans, some fasting, an EC, waiting to hopefully not get a direct call from Doc, waiting for a text message from the clinic advising me of the transfer time, then THE 2ww [that’s “two week wait”, between the transfer and the blood test to see if you’re preggers]…. I’ve never been able to get through a 2ww, so who knows what happens from then on. Well, I do know, but you know, let me just wade through my current pond of waiting first!

Happy holidays!

xo

Leave a Reply

